Adam Abate

arabate@gmail.com

Assistant Professor, BTS

Research summary: Microfluidic technologies for ultrahigh-throughput single cell analysis

https://sites.google.com/site/abatelab/contact/adam-r-abate

Nadav Ahituv

Nadav Ahituv

nadav.ahituv@ucsf.edu

Professor, Bioengineering & Therapeutic Sciences

Research summary: Deciphering thFunctional genomics and gene regulation

https://pharm.ucsf.edu/ahituv

Steven Altschuler

Steven Altschuler

steven.altschuler@ucsf.edu

Professor, Pharmceutical Chemistry

http://www.AltschulerWuLab.org

Michelle Arkin

Michelle Arkin

michelle.arkin@ucsf.edu

Associate Professor in Residence, Pharmaceutical Chemistry

Research summary: Chemical biology of protein-protein interactions and small-molecule drug discovery using biophysical and biological approaches

http://pharm.ucsf.edu/arkin

Roland Bainton

Roland Bainton

baintonr@anesthesia.ucsf.edu

Associate Professor in Residence, Anesthesia

Research summary: The Biology of Chemical Protection

http://aneswiki.ucsf.edu/groups/baintonlab/

Allan Balmain

Allan Balmain

abalmain@cc.ucsf.edu

Professor in Residence, Helen Diller Family CCC

Research summary: Mouse models for the study of human cancer susceptibility and cancer progression

Sourav Bandyopadhyay

Sourav Bandyopadhyay

sourav.bandyopadhyay@ucsf.edu

Associate Professor, Bioengineering & Therapeutic Sciences

Research summary: Network mapping approaches to guide the development of new personalized medicines in cancer

http://cancersignaling.net/

Leslie Benet

Leslie Benet

leslie.benet@ucsf.edu

Professor, Bioengineering & Therapeutic Sciences

Research summary: Hepatic Physiology and Metabolism

Laura Bull

Laura Bull

lbull@medsfgh.ucsf.edu

Associate Professor, Medicine

Research summary: Genetics approaches to study of the biology of the liver in health and disease

Esteban Burchard

Esteban Burchard

esteban@sfgh.ucsf.edu

Research summary: Pharmacogenomics and Genetic Epidemiology of Pulmonary Diseases

http://bts.ucsf.edu/burchard/

Atul Butte

Atul Butte

atul.butte@ucsf.edu

Professor and Institute Director, Pediatrics

Research summary: Creation and application of tools that convert more than 400 trillion points of molecular, clinical, and epidemiological data into diagnostics, therapeutics, and new insights into disease.

http://buttelab.org/

Xin Chen

Xin Chen

chenx@pharmacy.ucsf.edu

Assistant Professor, Bioengineering & Therapeutic Sciences

Research summary: Molecular genetics and genomics of GI tumors

http://bts.ucsf.edu/chen/

Bruce Conklin

Bruce Conklin

bconklin@gladstone.ucsf.edu

Professor in Residence, Gladstone Institute of Cardiovascular Disease

Research summary: Signaling and Functional Genomics

https://labs.gladstone.org/conklin

Charles Craik

Charles Craik

charles.craik@ucsf.edu

Professor, Pharmaceutical Chemistry

Research summary: Protein engineering, mutagenesis, heterologous gene expression, enzyme mechanisms and inhibitor design.

http://www.craiklab.ucsf.edu/

Tejal Desai

Tejal Desai

tejal.desai@ucsf.edu

Professor, Physiology

Research summary: Micro and nanofabrication approaches to tissue engineering scaffold design; implantable and oral drug delivery platforms; Surface modification for enhanced biorecognition, targeting, and biocompatibility.

http://bts.ucsf.edu/desai/

Robert Edwards

Robert Edwards

robert.edwards@ucsf.edu

Professor, Neurology

Research summary: Molecular analysis of neurotransmitter release; biophysical methods to study mechanisms underlying active transport.

http://keck.ucsf.edu/neurograd/faculty/edwards.html

Michael Evans

Michael Evans

michael.evans@ucsf.edu

Assistant Professor, Radiology & Biomedical Imaging

Research summary: Discovery and application of new biomarkers in oncology with molecular imaging

http://profiles.ucsf.edu/michael.evans

Thomas Ferrin

Thomas Ferrin

tef@cgl.ucsf.edu

Professor, Pharmaceutical Chemistry

Research summary: Molecular graphics; scientific visualization; computational chemistry; bioinformatics; structure-based drug design

http://www.cgl.ucsf.edu/

James Fraser

James Fraser

jfraser@fraserlab.com

Associate Professor, Bioengineering & Therapeutic Sciences

Research summary: Determining how engineering protein conformational ensembles change in response to chemical, physical, and genetic perturbations using structural, computational, and evolutionary approaches

http://www.fraserlab.com/

Jason Gestwicki

Jason Gestwicki

jason.gestwicki@ucsf.edu

Associate Professor in Residence, Institute for Neurodegenerative Diseases

Research summary: Targeting protein-protein interactions in the molecular chaperone complexes to understand protein homeostasis and treat protein misfolding diseases

http://ind.ucsf.edu/ind/aboutus/faculty/gestwickij

Kathy Giacomini

Kathy Giacomini

kathy.giacomini@ucsf.edu

Professor, Bioengineering & Therapeutic Sciences

Research summary: Molecular mechanisms of nucleosides transporters and organic cations, and pharmacogenomics

https://pharm.ucsf.edu/giacomini

Su Guo

Su Guo

su.guo@ucsf.edu

Associate Professor, Biopharm Sciences

Research summary: Development and Function of Neural Systems Interfacing Sensory Input and Behavioral Output

http://pharm.ucsf.edu/guo

Franklin Huang

Franklin Huang

franklin.huang@ucsf.edu

Research summary: Cancer genomics, cancer disparities, prostate cancer, cellular immortality/mechanisms and genomics of telomere maintenance, cancer computational biology

https://profiles.ucsf.edu/franklin.huang

Yadong Huang

yhuang@gladstone.ucsf.edu

Assoc Prof In Residence- Fy, Pathology

C. Anthony Hunt

C. Anthony Hunt

a.hunt@ucsf.edu

Professor, Bioengineering & Therapeutic Sciences

Research summary: Systems biology

http://biosystems.ucsf.edu/people.html

Matthew Jacobson

Matthew Jacobson

matt.jacobson@ucsf.edu

Professor, Pharmaceutical Chemistry

Research summary: Fundamental principles of physical chemistry and biological applications specifically modeling proteins and protein-ligand complexes using physics-based methods

http://francisco.compbio.ucsf.edu/~jacobson/

Michael Keiser

Michael Keiser

keiser@keiserlab.org

Assistant Professor, Intitute of Neurodegenerative Diseases

Research summary: How small molecules perturb entire protein networks to achieve their therapeutic effects

http://www.keiserlab.org

Ophir Klein

Ophir Klein

ophir.klein@ucsf.edu

Associate Professor, Orofacial Sciences & Pediatrics

Research summary: Developmental genetics of dental and craniofacial structures

http://klein.ucsf.edu/

David Kokel

David Kokel

david.kokel@ucsf.edu

Assistant Professor, Institute of Neurodegenerative Diseases

Research summary: High-throughput behavior based neuroactive drug discovery

http://kokellab.com

Deanna Kroetz

Deanna Kroetz

deanna.kroetz@ucsf.edu

Research summary: Genomic studies to understand the molecular basis of drug response and toxicity

https://pharm.ucsf.edu/kroetz

Pui-Yan Kwok

Pui-Yan Kwok

pui.kwok@ucsf.edu

Professor, Dermatology

Research summary: Analysis of Complex Genetic Traits

http://kwoklab.ucsf.edu/

Aparna Lakkaraju

Aparna Lakkaraju

aparna.lakkaraju@ucsf.edu

Research summary: Mechanisms and therapies for retinal degenerations using advanced imaging techniques, cell and molecular biology, pharmacology and biophysics

Hao Li

Hao Li

haoli@genome.ucsf.edu

Professor, Biochemistry & Biophysics

Research summary: Computational Genomics

http://mobydick.ucsf.edu/~haoli/

Wilson Liao

Wilson Liao

liaowi@derm.ucsf.edu

Associate Professor, Dermatology

Research summary: Dermatology and Human Genetics

http://profiles.ucsf.edu/wilson.liao

Aashish Manglik

Aashish Manglik

aashish.manglik@ucsf.edu

Assistant Professor, Pharmceutical Chemistry

Research summary: Molecular basis of transmembrane signaling using integrative techniques in structural biology, biophysics, pharmacology, and protein engineering.

www.mangliklab.com

Michael McManus

Michael McManus

michael.mcmanus@ucsf.edu

Associate Professor, Microbiology & Immunology

Research summary: RNAi and Noncoding RNAs

http://mcmanuslab.ucsf.edu/

Melanie Ott

Melanie Ott

mott@gladstone.ucsf.edu

ASSOC PROF IN RESIDENCE- FY, Gladstone Institute

http://www.ottlab.ucsf.edu/people/

Katie Pollard

Katie Pollard

kpollard@gladstone.ucsf.edu

Professor, Gladstone Institutes

Research summary: Comparative genomics, metagenomics, evolution, machine-learning, multivariate statistics

http://docpollard.org

Neil Risch

Neil Risch

rischn@humgen.ucsf.edu

Professor and Director, Institute for Human Genetics

Research summary: Genetic epidemiology of complex diseases in ethnic populations

http://humgen.medschool.ucsf.edu/

Dorit Ron

Dorit Ron

dorit.ron@ucsf.edu

Neurology

Research summary: Signal Transduction, Molecular Neurobiology of Addiction

http://doritronlab.org/index.html

Sabrina Ronen

Sabrina Ronen

sabrina.ronen@ucsf.edu

Professor In Residence, Radiology

http://www.radiology.ucsf.edu/research/labs/ronen

Shuvo Roy

Shuvo Roy

shuvo.roy@ucsf.edu

Professor, Bioengineering & Therapeutic Sciences

Research summary: Biomedical devices, Micro/nano technology, Organ-on-chip, Sensors

https://pharm.ucsf.edu/roy

Andrej Sali

Andrej Sali

sali@salilab.org

Professor, Bioengineering & Therapeutic Sciences

Research summary: Computation grounded in the laws of physics and evolution to study the structure and function of proteins

http://www.salilab.org/

Stephan Sanders

Stephan Sanders

stephan.sanders@ucsf.edu

Assistant Professor, Psychiatry

Research summary: Genomics of neurodevelopment including autism spectrum disorder, de novo mutations, functional genomics, clinical genetic diagnosis, bioinformatics

Rada Savic

Rada Savic

rada.savic@ucsf.edu

Assistant Professor, Bioengineering & Therapeutic Sciences

Research summary: Clinical and translational pharmacology, computational methods and modelling, drug development for global health, stratified medicine

Mark Segal

Mark Segal

mark.segal@ucsf.edu

Professor, Epidemiology & Biostatistics

Research summary: Statistical and computational methods in genomics with a current emphasis on 3D chromatin conformation.

http://www.epibiostat.ucsf.edu/epidem/personnel/msegal2.html

Neil Shah

Neil Shah

nshah@medicine.ucsf.edu

Assistant Professor, Medicine

Research summary: Targeted Therapy of Hematologic Malignancies

Yin Shen

Yin Shen

yin.shen@ucsf.edu

Assistant Professor, Neurology

Research summary: Utilizing functional genomics to study human development and neurological diseases

http://shenlab.ucsf.edu/

Dean Sheppard

Dean Sheppard

dean.sheppard@ucsf.edu

Professor & Chief, Pulmonary & Critical Care

Research summary: Functions of Integrins in Cells and Mammals

http://medschool.ucsf.edu/lungbiology/people/deansheppard.aspx

Brian Shoichet

Brian Shoichet

bshoichet@gmail.com

Professor, Pharmaceutical Chemistry

Research summary: Molecular docking, structure-based inhibitor discovery, beta-lactamase activity-stability-evolution, and crystallography.

http://shoichetlab.compbio.ucsf.edu

Marina Sirota

Marina Sirota

marina.sirota@ucsf.edu

Assistant Professor, Pediatrics

Research summary: Develop integrative computational methods and apply these approaches in the context of disease diagnostics and therapeutics

http://sirotalab.ucsf.edu/

Alejandro Sweet-Cordero

Alejandro Sweet-Cordero

alejandro.sweet-cordero@ucsf.edu

Pediatrics

Research summary: Genomics of pediatric sarcomas and lung cancer, discovery of novel targets for cancer therapy, translational genomics

https://sweetcorderolab.ucsf.edu/

Peter Turnbaugh

Peter Turnbaugh

peter.turnbaugh@ucsf.edu

Assistant Professor, Microbiology & Immunology

http://turnbaughlab.ucsf.edu/

Christian Vaisse

Christian Vaisse

vaisse@medicine.ucsf.edu

Associate Professor, Medicine

Research summary: Genetics of Metabolic Diseases

http://vaisselab.ucsf.edu/Vaisse_Lab/home.html

Laura Van 't Veer

Laura Van 't Veer

laura.vantveer@ucsf.edu

Professor, Laboratory Medicine

Mark Von Zastrow

Mark Von Zastrow

mark@vzlab.org

Professor, Psychiatry

Research summary: Linking Cell Signaling and Membrane Traffic

http://www.z-lab.org/

Lauren Weiss

Lauren Weiss

lauren.weiss@ucsf.edu

Associate Professor, Psychiatry

Research summary: Complex genetic mechanisms in autism using human data and iPSC models

http://laweisslab.ucsf.edu/

William Weiss

William Weiss

waweiss@gmail.com

Professor, Neurology

Research summary: Mouse models for tumors of the nervous system

http://waweisslab.ucsf.edu/

James Wells

James Wells

jim.wells@ucsf.edu

Professor, Pharmaceutical Chemistry

Research summary: Small molecule drug discovery; drug mechanisms as they relate to apoptosis and cancer.

http://wellslab.ucsf.edu/

John Witte

John Witte

jwitte@ucsf.edu

Professor, Epidemiology & Biostatistics

Research summary: Developing and applying statistical tools to decipher the genomic and environmental basis of complex diseases

http://wittelab.ucsf.edu/

Alan Wu

Alan Wu

wualan@labmed2.ucsf.edu

Professor, Laboratory Medicine

Research summary: Cardiac biomarkers, analytical and toxicology, pharmacogenomics

Lani Wu

Lani Wu

lani.wu@ucsf.edu

Professor, Pharmceutical Chemistry

htpp://www.AltschulerWuLab.org

Jimmie Ye

Jimmie Ye

jimmie.ye@ucsf.edu

Assistant Professor, Epidemiology & Biostatistics

Research summary: Interaction between genetics and environment affect human variation at the level of molecular phenotypes

http://yelab.ucsf.edu/

Elad Ziv

Elad Ziv

elad.ziv@ucsf.edu

Associate Professor, Internal Medicine

Research summary: Application of Population Genetics to the Study of Complex Traits in Humans